For All the Fathers Out There

We all have a father who helped bring us into this world. No matter our life circumstances, there is some man who can be called our biological father. Unfortunately, there are also many people whose fathers do not take their inherent responsibility seriously. Some fathers leave the home early, abandoning their young families to the cruel fate of the world. Others don’t even stay around long enough to see their children, leaving the mother to eke out a living for themselves and their children. As members of the Mormon church, we believe that these fathers will be held accountable for their actions. The Family: A Proclamation to the World is a document written by living prophets in our day that describes our beliefs regarding the family and the divine nature of a father’s calling. Here is a link to the Proclamation if you would like to read it, which I would highly recommend! http://www.lds.org/topics/family-proclamation

As awesome as that is though, my post today has a different purpose. I would like to give a shout-out to the fathers out there who are working to support their families. I want to thank all the fathers who can’t but wish they could. Most of all, I would like to show how much I appreciate the fathers out there who put the happiness of their kids and wives ahead of their own happiness. In particular, I would like to thank my own father for doing everything in his power to give my siblings and me a head start on life and a happy childhood.

I guess I have been thinking a lot about fathers and their role in our lives today because my companion, Elder Shrack, shared a video with me that really touched my heart. I think it shows the role of a father very effectively and has given me inspiration as to what kind of father I want to be to my future children. Fathers have a unique perspective on how God, our Heavenly Father, sees us and our needs. He loves us enough to provide everything for us, even when we don’t understand where it came from or what sacrifices were made to get it. Anyway, here is the video!

If there is a father in your life who has influenced you for the better and you know loves you no matter what, share this post and video with your friends and family!

Leave a Reply

